Botswana. Relations governed by Trade Agreement of 1937 with Britain. GATT de facto application. (Canada accords British preferential tariff treatment.)

Britain. Trade agreement effective September 1, 1937; modified by exchanges of letters November 16, 1938 and October 30, 1947. GATT effective January 1, 1948. (Various concessions are granted by each country including exchange of preferential tariff treatment. The Agreement, as modified, includes provisions relating to the colonies, dependencies and trusteeships. Britain has given notice of its intention to terminate its bilateral trade agreement with Canada on February 1, 1973. As a result of Britain's accession to the EEC, the tariff preferences it extends to Canada will be phased out over a transitional period ending in 1977.)

Commonwealth Caribbean (Bahamas, Bermuda, British Honduras, Leeward Islands, Windward Islands). Canada - British West Indies Trade Agreement in force April 30, 1927; Canadian notice of termination of November 23, 1938, was replaced by notice of December 27, 1939, which continued the Agreement. Protocol signed July 8, 1966, provides inter alia for continuation of 1925 Agreement. Bermuda, British Honduras, the Leeward Islands and the Windward Islands participate in GATT. (Exchange of preferential tariff treatment.)

Cyprus, Relations governed by Trade Agreement of 1937 with Britain. GATT effective August 16, 1960. (Exchange of British preferential tariff treatment.)

Fiji. Relations governed by Canada - United Kingdom Trade Agreement of 1937. Fiji maintains de facto application of GATT. (Exchange of British preferential tariff treatment.)

Gambia. GATT effective February 18, 1965. (Canada accords British preferential tariff treatment to Gambia. Gambia extends most-favoured-nation treatment to Canada.)

Ghana. GATT effective October 18, 1957. (Canada accords British preferential tariff treatment to Ghana, except on cocoa beans. Ghana extends most-favoured-nation treatment to Canada.)

Guyana. Relations are based on the Canada - West Indies Trade Agreement and protocol thereto (see Commonwealth Caribbean). GATT effective July 5, 1966. (Exchange of preferential tariff treatment.)

India. Since 1897 Canada has unilaterally accorded British preferential treatment without contractual obligation. GATT effective July 8, 1948. (Canada accords British preferential tariff treatment to India. India extends most-favoured-nation treatment to Canada.)

Jamaica. Relations are based on Canada - West Indies Trade Agreement and protocol thereto (see Commonwealth Caribbean). GATT effective August 6, 1962. (Exchange of preferential tariff treatment.)

Kenya. Relations governed by Trade Agreement of 1937 with Britain. GATT effective December 12, 1963. (Canada accords British preferential tariff treatment to Kenya. Kenya extends most-favoured-nation treatment to Canada.)

Lesotho. Relations governed by Trade Agreement of 1937 with Britain. GATT de facto application. (Canada accords British preferential tariff treatment to Lesotho.)

Malawi. Malawi and Canada observe the terms of 1958 Trade Agreement between Canada and the former Federation of Rhodesia and Nyasaland. GATT effective July 6, 1964. (Exchange of preferential tariff treatment.)

Malaysia. Relations governed by Trade Agreement of 1937 with Britain. GATT effective September 16, 1963. (Exchange of British preferential tariff treatment.)

Maldives. Relations governed by Trade Agreement of 1937 with Britain. GATT de facto application. (Canada accords British preferential tariff treatment.)

Malta. Relations governed by Trade Agreement of 1937 with Britain. GATT effective September 16, 1964. (Exchange of British preferential tariff treatment.)

Mauritius. GATT effective March 12, 1968. (Exchange of British preferential tariff treatment.)

New Zealand. Trade Agreement in force May 24, 1932. GATT effective July 26, 1948. (Bindings of rates of duty on specified products and the exchange of tariff preferences.)

Nigeria. Relations governed by Trade Agreement of 1937 with Britain. GATT effective October 1, 1960. (Canada accords British preferential treatment to Nigeria. Nigeria extends most-favoured-nation treatment to Canada.)